NSF Grant Awarded

Department Chairs Ellen Veomett (Mathematics & CS) and Mari-Anne Rosario (Physics) are the recipients of an NSF Grant of $500,000, titled “HSI Implementation and Evaluation Project: First-year approaches to enhance science identity and STEM persistence.”

The project aims to enhance the persistence and success of students from groups historically underrepresented in the STEM fields, particularly in their first year of STEM courses, within a primarily undergraduate institution with a liberal arts and science-based curriculum. In addition, Professors Karen Ruff (Chemistry), Jim Pesavento (Biology), Alice Baldridge (EES), Zuli Kurji (Chemistry), Nekesha Williams (EES), Jeff Sigman (Chemistry), Anna Karelina (Physics) and Mary Raygoza (KSOE) are part of the team implementing the grant.